Some WordPress 2.0.5 users reporting Server 500 error

If you are part of the small minority of WP users seeing 500 error messages (or anything about 302) after upgrading to WordPress 2.0.5, listen up.

First, download this plugin, upload it to your wp-content/plugins/ directory and activate it by going to the "Plugins" menu and clicking "Activate" next to the "WordPress 2.0.5 Tuneup" listing. If you get the error message after logging in and thus cannot click the "Plugins" tab, manually type {WPDIR}/wp-admin/plugins.php into your address bar.

Second, that was my fault. Very sorry about that. This bug was reported for WordPress 2.1 on Trac, and it slipped my mind that the same change had gone into 2.0.5

The good news is that it's a small minority of people that is affected, and the problem can be fixed with a plugin. I'm not sure if this means a version 2.0.5.1 will be coming out... I'll discuss it with Matt and Ryan. Please let me know if the plugin fixes the issue for you, and spread the word to other affected people, if it does! If you see anyone recommending that people stay on 2.0.4, point them to this post. 2.0.4 has security issues, so staying on that version would be very foolish.

144 thoughts on “Some WordPress 2.0.5 users reporting Server 500 error

  1. Pingback: The Code Cave
  2. Pingback: Uewkes » 2.0.5
  3. Reinstalled wordpress – but I get a blank screen on the logon page(and even when I go to veiw site also). Would the above plugin fix this fault?

  4. John says:

    Forgive my commentary.
    But that was one hell of an issue which “slipped” your mind.
    Please consider reissuing this update as opposed to only relying on a plug-in as it is the more professional and secure thing to do. WordPress should never rely on quick fixes. Microsoft implements the same strategy with Explorer and look at how many problems they constantly have with hackers and script kiddies.

  5. zef says:

    I’ve upgraded mine but didn’t get server 500 error message. Is there any possibility this error will come out in the future if I’m not using this plugin?

  6. Pingback: ddhr.org
  7. Please consider reissuing this update as opposed to only relying on a plug-in as it is the more professional and secure thing to do.

    Reissuing the update with the same version number is a bad idea. People who have already downloaded it won’t know which version they have. That leads to confusion. If the software changes, the version number should change too.

    There’s no security issue here. It’s a PHP bug that WordPress will have to work around.

    WordPress should never rely on quick fixes.

    Unfortunately, the change that caused this problem was needed for another group of people (another very small minority). So one group needs the change, or WP is broken, and for another group the change breaks WP. We obviously want a solution that works for both of them (and of course continues to work for the vast majority unaffected by these issues) but it’s a tricky issue, and there isn’t an immediately obvious solution. So the plugin is here for the small amount of people who are having a problem, so their blogs at least work (and have the security updates in 2.0.5) until we can come up with a solution that works for all server setups.

    If you are one of the people affected, we’d appreciate it if you’d speak up on the wp-testers list so we can work with you to develop that solution.

  8. hi mark…
    i haven’t upgrading my 2.0.4 to 2.0.5 cause of this bug…
    why don’t u relelease the fix with WP 2.0.5.1 for example?? so the people don’t get worry to upgrading their wordpress to 2.0.5 to fix the security issues that u mentioned before.

    oh,and I have no bug issues with my 2.0.4

    anyway…thanks mark!!!

  9. JSJ says:

    I have tried everything suggested. I am still not able to access the plugins page to activate it. What do I do?

  10. why i can’t publish my post??
    all works fine….but after i finish writing and click publish, it’s fine..
    but there’s no new post in my blog??what’s wrong??i’ve already upgraded to 2.0.5 and install your plugins

  11. why don’t u relelease the fix with WP 2.0.5.1 for example?

    Because the change that caused this problem was needed for other people. We could just revert, but then they’d be having problems again. We need to find a solution that works for both groups of people before releasing a new version. That’s why I released this plugin… I didn’t want people to be forced to stay back on 2.0.4 in the interim.

    I don’t know what issue you’re having with publishing posts, but if it persists with all plugins disabled, you should file a ticket on Trac. Be specific about your setup and the steps to reproduce.

  12. I am still not able to access the plugins page to activate it. What do I do?

    You can edit wp-includes/pluggable-functions.php

    Line 268 is:

    status_header($status); // This causes problems on IIS

    Disable this by placing two forward slashes in front of that line, like so:

    // status_header($status); // This causes problems on IIS

    That is the same change that my plugin makes.

  13. Ghidra99 says:

    Hey Mark,

    Just a question, but what, exactly, is causing this error? I was having the same issue for a plug-in I wanted to activate and my ISP could not give me a straight answer (they’re worthless, in fact).

    I’d appreciate any insight into what’s happening.

  14. After upgrading from 204 to 205 wordpress seems to work as usually, but every time I try to change or delete an existing post I get the 500 internal server error. Installed your plugin but it still don’t work. Had the same error when upgrading from 203 to 204 and fixed it by deleting all files in the cache directory without any additional changes to wordpress files. This time it won’t help. What else can I do?

  15. Just a question, but what, exactly, is causing this error? I was having the same issue for a plug-in I wanted to activate and my ISP could not give me a straight answer (they’re worthless, in fact).

    The causes of 500 errors are too numerous to list, so it’s likely that the reason for this one is not the reason for the one you were having.

    Tobais, same goes for you. It sounds like you may have a permissions issue. I’d contact your host about that.

  16. Ping says:

    Thanks for this plug-in! I was one of the random people having this issue, and the plug-in took care of it right away.

  17. i’m still getting the error. I actually had it already before the 2.0.5 upgrade. turned of al the plugins except this one, still get the error. For example: when I save the edit of a link the 500 internal server error returns. Also with a plugin to generate google sitemaps, if i try to make a sitemap it returns me the %@*# error :S

    has it something to do with the chmod on the ftp server? or an mysql configuration? I have no clue what is causing this error. i’m going to search for my server error logs if there are an :S

  18. Ghidra99 says:

    @outlaw_wolf,

    That’s the same plug-in I’m having problems with.

    @Mark,

    I’m betting that the Feedburner plug-in and this recent WordPress update problem have a lot in common, considering they’re both causing a “302 Found” error (the 500 internal server error is cursory).

  19. hi mark…sometime i get this if i want to login to my WP.

    Warning: Cannot modify header information – headers already sent by (output started at /home/ekowanz/public_html/wp-config.php:24) in /home/ekowanz/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-2.0.5-tuneup.php on line 25

    but sometime not!!
    u know why??
    and i just moved my server…

  20. Pingback: fotos.neuweger.com
  21. A couple of questions:
    Can I apply this plugin even if I haven’t seen an error without ill effects?
    Where would I see the errors, as a visitor or on admin pages?

  22. I can’t get to plugins.php or even the wp-admin directory at all.

    2.0.5 is quite useless, and going back to 2.0.4 gave me “your database is out of date” error and I don’t want to re-run the upgrade..

    How can I fix this without the plug in since I can’t activate it.

    How did this go through QA? Sheesh..

  23. Spent the whole of yesterday evening trying to troubleshoot Internal Server Errors generated by the back-end after upgrading to 2.0.5.

    Tride the plug-in and It is all fine now.

    Thanks you very much.

    JD

  24. berendkbnem says:

    I have upgraded from 2.o4 to 2.05. When trying to rebuild the database I get the internal error. I loaded the plugin. When entering {WPDIR}/wp-admin/plugins.php in the adressbar I get the same message that my database is out of date. What should I do????

  25. berendkbnem says:

    EDIT

    Extra Info: I tried the method you described in post nr. 20 but it does not work.

    The error log reports the following error:

    [Thu Nov 16 21:51:47 2006] [error] [client 62.194.176.101] mod_security: Access denied with code 500. Pattern match “!/imp/login\\.php” at HEADER(“Referer”) [id "300018"] [rev "3"] [msg "Generic PHP code injection protection via ARGS"] [severity "CRITICAL"] [hostname "voordedraad.nl"] [uri "/WordPress/wp-admin/upgrade.php?step=1&backto=http://voordedraad.nl/WordPress/wp-admin/"] [unique_id "a3pRoH8AAAEAAARkyBkAAAAU"]

  26. berendkbnem says:

    Problem resolved!

    When I came back the next dat, the whole thing worked! Computer had been turned off. Only Arne’s sitemap generator gives me the Internal error.

    Cheers, Berend

  27. Wouter Smaal says:

    I install today on my hosting site, from scratch, WordPress 2.0.5 and noticed the 500 internal server errors too. After install the WordPress 2.0.5 Tuneup fix, I have now by default the 500 internal server error. I can’t even login as wp-admin (500 internal server error)

  28. I tried posting this at the site with the plugin but there was an error so i will post it here:

    Thanks for this! I was banging my head against the wall trying to access WP’s dashboard when hosting with Yahoo.

    So, for anyone who is using Yahoo web hosting and is getting the following error:

    The document has moved here.

    Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

    This solved it.

    The trick is, since you can’t access the dashboard, you can’t activate the plugin. so i had to go into phpMyAdmin and add the following line to my wp-options > active_plugins row.

    i:0;s:26:”wordpress-2.0.5-tuneup.php”;

    Add that to the end right before the last bracket ‘}’. you’ll need to change the 0 to the correct number. just look for the last ‘i:’ in that line and look at the number after it. add one and change 0 to that number.

    if you don’t have any plugins installed, you need to enter this:

    a:1:{i:0;s:26:”wordpress-2.0.5-tuneup.php”;}

    hope that helps

    eric

  29. Heads up for anyone affected by this bug. I’ve put fixes into the SVN repository for /trunk/ and /branches/2.0/ Testing would be appreciated! Be sure to remove the tuneup plugin and revert any changes you made to WP core. Let me know how it goes!

  30. Hi,

    I just did the update and I did not get any error. But I moved the plugin to my plugin directory, just in case. However I cannot see it at all in the list of plugins!

    Is this the wrong place to ask this question? Anybody else faced this issue?

  31. I’m wondering if all the problems I’ve been getting with WordPress can be fixed with this plugin. I am planning to set up the blog on a different host and kept getting the 500 errors and can’t log in. And sometimes when I do log in, when I’m supposed to be in the dashboard, I still see my main page. Is this going to fix that?

    Also, it seems to be so terribly slow to update. Could this also fix that as well? I’ve been scratching my head since I wasn’t sure if it was my new host or whatever.

  32. Looks like I still have it and the dashboard doesn’t load the dashboard and I’m getting my main page. Sigh. I can’t seem to figure this out. Grr.

  33. Giordano says:

    I’m trying to update wordpress from 1.5.2 to 2.0.5 and i get error 500.
    Plugin doesn’t work for me, because i’m not be able to open any page without getting this error.

    I also tried to enable plugin in 1.5.2 and upgrade to 2.0.5 without deactivate the plugin, but it doesn’t work.

  34. Argh!!! I think I’m getting this error thing. I have installed the plug-in fix, but everything’s still the same.

    Here’s what’s happening – I have two feeds: a worpress feed and a feedburner feed. The feedburner feed, I think, is getting the 500 error – in bloglines, it shows a red exclamation point, and the error states that “The feed does not appear to exist. This can be caused by the feed URL being incorrect, or it can be caused by a configuration issue with the server hosting the feed.”.

    The wordpress feed just doesn’t seem to be doing much – in bloglines and in google reader, my most recent post is not appearing. Two people using netvibes as their aggregator DID receive my latest post.

    So I’m really confused. Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  35. I’m also having problems with feeds when I activate this plugin…

    The server error goes away, but there is a feed parsing error. Seems that there is extra white space in the xml declaration. Most of the site works without this plugin, so i’m leaving it disabled so feeds work…

    Hopefully this will be fixed in 2.1?

  36. This plugin fixed it for me too – my web host is running PHP 5 as a CGI application and would throw back 302/500 errors until I installed the plugin. All works just fine now. Thanks :)

    M.

  37. Somewhat late I know – but it was only now that I (a) got round to upgrading to 2.0.5 and (b) working out why it didn’t work ;-)

    Having found that the 302 errors I was seeing went away after reverting to “PHP4 Apache module mode” from “PHP4 FastCGI mode”, I (fortunately) found your plugin, which meant I avoided having to decide whether to downgrade my WordPress version, or continue to run without the benefits of FastCGI.

    Thanks again Mark.

  38. Hi you said what to do if you get the error message after you log in but i get it before.

    http://mkwebtravel.com/blog/wp-admin/

    I have BluHost so i went into my blog folder through there and uploaded the plugin into the right folder : /www/blog/wp-content/plugins

    but now i am at a total loss as to what to do and i have been reading comments for hours and found nothing helpful.

    If you have any ideas please let me know. Thank you for your help and expertise.

    Sincerely,
    MK

  39. I also have the Problem, with the 500. So I downloaded the plugin and loaded it up again. I tried to aktivate it, but i can’t enter any pages of my wordpress. So I changed the file pluggable-funktions.php as u said. But it is still not working. Help me please!!

  40. I just realised, that I already installed the 2.0.6 Version. So how can I still get this Problem?? It always appears first, after I have been in Settings and PErmalinks. I also changed the link appearance once. Could this be the Prob??

  41. For the past week or so i’ve been having a 503 error when trying to log or view my url

    http://twobrothersandasister.com

    When i contacted my provider they said there are too many process being executed so that’s the thing that is causing these error.

    Not sure if this is a DoS attack or anything like that ( read in wordpress thread ) but i am running spamkarma, bad behaviour and spam karma…

    I haven’t done any major changes except for the header image but that was on New Year…

    if anyone have any ideas, appreciate the help…cause im going crazy

  42. Thanks for the plugin, it worked a treat on my blog … it took me quite some time finding the fix, now I have I’m over the moon.The 500 error only occured when adding new blog posts in my case. Thanks again.

  43. I followed these editing instructions:

    wp-includes/pluggable-functions.php

    Line 268 is:

    status_header($status); // This causes problems on IIS

    Disable this by placing two forward slashes in front of that line, like so:

    // status_header($status); // This causes problems on IIS

    After I added the two forward slashes, I saved and closed ftp. Now when I look at that code again in ftp it is completely blank. Is that a problem? I’m not sure I’ve done anything positive here…please advise. Little worried I may have messed something up, though the site seems to be okay thus far.

  44. My other site didn’t fair as well…I uploaded the plugin and got a 500 error upon trying to write a new post. Then I manually changed the code in the pluggable.php (not pluggable-functions.php) adding the two forward slashes and I ended up with a white screen on the new post page. It would load the top portion of the new post page quickly, but it couldn’t seem to finish the bottom of the post page…it would white out the bottom portion, though there was no error code.

  45. Hello,

    I am using linux server. I am facing problem as follows

    whenever I am login using WordPress username and

    Password. I can’t even veiw the site from within WordPress.

    How to fix this problem?

    Mak

Comments are closed.