WordPress 2.1.1 Upgrade: changed files ZIP, changes diff, changed files list

WordPress 2.1.1 has been released, incorporating a security fix, and a few other bug fixes. This is a mandatory upgrade. If you want the full zip with the entire WP install, download it here.

If you are upgrading from WordPress 2.1, you obviously don’t need the entire install, you just need the files that have changed. Because my upgrade files for 2.0.3 through 2.1 were so popular (and thanks to countless words of praise and even a few generous monetary donations), I’m going to continue to provide the same files for this and future 2.0.x upgrades.

Changed Files List

Changed Files List (2.1 » 2.1.1)
This is a list of all the files that have changed since the last (2.1) release. You can also see the changes and their corresponding tickets on Trac.

Changed Files ZIP

Changed Files ZIP (2.1 » 2.1.1)
This is what most people will want. This is a zip file that includes only the files that have changed since the last (2.1) release. This will save you a lot of FTP upload time.

Update: I missed a few files when creating the Changed Files ZIP. If you downloaded this file before 4:53am GMT on March 1st, 2007, you’ll need to download it again.
Update 2: Yeah… again. It seems that latest.zip on WordPress.org was compromised, so if you downloaded between 4:53 GMT on March 1st, 2007 and 13:15 GMT on March 2nd, 2007, you must download the full official package from WordPress.org and replace your wp-includes/theme.php and wp-includes/feed.php files.

Changes Diff

Changes Diff (2.1 » 2.1.1)
This is a diff file (a patch) with all the changes made since the last (2.1) release. Make sure you do a trial run by using the patch command’s --dry-run (or equivalent) switch, to verify that the patch will apply cleanly.

Disclaimer

I prepared these files myself and have tested them. Still, I cannot stress enough the importance of making a full file and database backup before attempting to upgrade WordPress using these or any other files. I cannot be responsible for your carelessness. Make a backup!

I should mention that these files are unofficial. They were made on my own time, of my own volition, without any input from other WordPress developers and without any official sanction from Automattic inc.

22 thoughts on “WordPress 2.1.1 Upgrade: changed files ZIP, changes diff, changed files list

  1. I was just planning on making one myself to share with others but you saved me the trouble. ;)

    Thanks Mark. I wish there was an easier way to upgrade multiple wordpress blogs thou.

  2. Quote = do a trial run by using the patch command’s –dry-run (or equivalent) switch, to verify that the patch will apply cleanly.

    Could anyone point me to some guide where i can learn exactly how to perform that?

    Thanks!

  3. Mark,
    This is great, saves a lot of time, and is much appreciated.

    It appears that the wp-includes/js scriptaculous and tiny_mce updates were not included in your Changed File ZIP?

    Thanks again!

  4. Thanks Mark.

    Is it just me or are the following files missing from the zip:

    wp-includes/js/tinymce/tiny_mce_config.php
    wp-includes/js/tinymce/tiny_mce_gzip.php
    wp-includes/js/tinymce/wp-mce-help.php

  5. I really wish you would remove the wordpress folder in the zip-file so we do not have to unpack the file to use it. Unpacking Linux files on a Win computer usually messes up rights or something else. Why do the developers want to FORCE you to use a subfolder in the first place? Should it not be my choice where I want to put it? Then it is better to not have a subfolder in the zip.

  6. faustina says:

    Thanks so much for providing this with each update. I really appreciate the work you’ve done, it makes updating so much easier.

  7. faustina says:

    I just checked, the changed files list says that
    wp-includes/js/tinymce/tiny_mce_config.php
    wp-includes/js/tinymce/tiny_mce_gzip.php
    wp-includes/js/tinymce/wp-mce-help.php

    are changed, but they are not in the zip. Should they be?

  8. Michael and faustina,

    Thanks, you were right. I’ve updated the zip file as of 4:53am GMT on March 1st, 2007. Anyone who download the zip file before that should re-download.

  9. Hey Mark, I still have your upgrade files sitting on my desktop waiting to install…any idea whether the files you supplied were affected by the “hacker” which forced a release of WordPress 2.1.2?

  10. Ryan, they were, between 4:53 GMT on March 1st, 2007 and 13:15 GMT on March 2nd, 2007.

    For your safety, you should upgrade to the full 2.1.2 package.

Comments are closed.