WordPress Hook Database

One of WordPress’s best features is its extensive plugin architecture.  Let me rephrase that: its massive plugin architecture.  As of WordPress 1.5.2, there are over 185 hardcoded hooks, with 2 additional hooks dynamically generated for each individual option.  That’s a lot of hooks.  And most of them are not documented at all.

That’s going to change.

My newest WordPress-related project is a database of all of WordPress’ hooks.  The database is running on WordPress (naturally), and uses categorization to automatically insert information about certain types of hooks, without me having to repeat it.  The rest of it is powered by grep, and a lot of hard work.

Eventually, every hook will be described, categorized, shown in context, and comments about its use will be added.  Go ahead, check it out.  Do me a favor and hold off on linking it.  I still have a lot of work to do, and much of the information will be incorrect until I do (for example, hooks are assumed to be filters if I haven’t marked them as actions).  I’d just like to give you a preview, and maybe to solicit some feedback.  What would be useful information to you?

8 thoughts on “WordPress Hook Database

  1. I know this is a fairly old post, but I just found it today and wanted to say that I’ve already found the hooks DB to be very useful. Hopefully you’re still finding time to work on it. Either way, thanks.😉

  2. I’ve been busy lately, but I’m hoping to get a several-hours-long session in here soon. Already it is fairly useful, just for knowing that a hook exists… and the categories are helpful. Once you know the hook exists, you can look it up. Most of the questions I see are “is there a hook to do this?” not questions about how to use an existing hook.

    So, stay tuned. If I let this stagnate, feel free to leave a comment prodding me into action!

  3. Pingback: Diario a Borbo
  4. Pingback: 968c6c4efb04

Comments are closed.