Volunteer needed for 2.0.11/2.2 upgrade files

I’m getting married on May 5th and will be on honeymoon until the 12th. If WordPress 2.0.11 or 2.2 drop within this time frame, I’m obviously not going to be able to deliver the upgrade files that I’ve been making for several past releases. My laptop doesn’t get to come on the honeymoon!

Is there anyone out there who is capable and willing to takeover those duties for this next release batch? If so, I could give you posting rights on this blog for that purpose. Or if you’re someone who already makes such files on your own, I could give you posting rights so you can link to your post from this site (as a lot of people expect to see the files here).

What I generally do is download the zip releases of the two versions and extract them to two folders. I diff them, and use that diff to figure out changed files (hint: grep for “\+\+\+”). From the changed files list, I do a find/replace to turn the list of files into a bunch of cp commands that move the new files into their own directory. Then I zip up that directory for use as the changed-files-only zip (minus any /wp-content/ stuff). Then I remove any /wp-content stuff from the diff and clean it up (making the paths relative to a WP install directory, removing the dates, etc). It’s tempting to make the diff directly from SVN, but because svn:externals pulls in the latest copy of Akismet, you’ll never show that Akismet needs updating, so you have to use the zips.

For testing, I start with a directory of the old version, and either apply the diff or merge the changed-files-only directory in. Then I diff it against a virgin copy of the new version. There should be no differences.

Then I copy-paste an old updates files blog entry, change the version numbers, add any special notes (or remove old ones that don’t apply), upload the files, then post.

Anyone up for it?

Update: I’m back! And just in time, it seems. Thanks to Charles Hooper to stepping up, but as luck would have it, I’ll be able to handle these upgrade files after all.

10 thoughts on “Volunteer needed for 2.0.11/2.2 upgrade files

  1. Hey Mark – congratulations! And we don’t know each other well, but we’ll forever have the same anniversary🙂 I’m getting married on Saturday, as well.

  2. Hi Mark,

    Congratulations on the upcoming event of a lifetime!🙂

    All this sounds like an interesting way to help WordPress community and thank you for all the previous updates, so if no one had secured the privilege yet, I’ll be glad to help.

  3. Congratulations, Mark! And good for you for not taking the laptop on the honeymoon..laptops don’t belong on honeymoons🙂

    My best to you and the VERY soon to be Mrs.!

Comments are closed.