Movable Type now available in GPL version

Movable Type is now Free for any purpose, under the same license used for WordPress. Take the mic, Mr. Dash.

As of today, and forever forward, Movable Type is open source. This means you can freely modify, redistribute, and use Movable Type for any purpose you choose.

[…]

Like many of us on the team, some of you have been waiting for this moment for years. For a business, an open source license affects boring things like how a product is created, updated, and distributed. But the open source movement has always been about something more important: Freedom. With a name like “Movable Type”, we’ve always been keenly aware of the importance of freedom, as that name echoes both the birth of the printing press and the creation of independent media that an individual can control.

Congratulations to the Six Apart team and the Movable Type community! This is a big deal.

There are detractors, to be sure — but I am not among them. Although the move is overdue, I have no doubts about the sincerity of their intentions or their attitude towards Free/Open Source Software.

24 thoughts on “Movable Type now available in GPL version

  1. This is a really good idea. Even so, some (who have paid for the software for years) might not be happy to have spent the money, only to see it go open-source. Movable Type still can’t match up head-to-head with WordPress, but this is a step in the right direction.

  2. wonderful, thats great. i have never used movable type because i didnt want to pay for it so i used wordpress instead. now i am sorely tempted to download and play with it

  3. Sounds like a great idea except it came years to late. But it will never be close to WordPress…. Unles they plan to intergrate aspect of WP into their program.

  4. This is good news for me. I’ve been looking for some alternatives to WordPress just to see if there’s anything fresh out there. Habari holds some promise, but it’s nowhere near release stage yet.

    That said, I don’t think Movable Type will need to integrate anything from WP in order to make a name for themselves. Instead, they need only offer something that has often eluded other platforms🙂

  5. Perhaps not, Chris. I haven’t read anything about it, but it’s not unusual for open-source software to charge for support. Maybe only those that have paid for it can get official support.

  6. Great, thats a good news. I always like MT, SixAparts has been one the l33t developer behind many bloggin revolution “back-then”.

    IMO Expression Engine should take this path to.

  7. Yes, it is a Good Thing, but I won’t go back. When I made the jump from MT to WP due to licensing issues, I found that WP was a lot easier to program for and was able to make a couple of plugins, quickly, that I couldn’t have ever done on my own in MT. Maybe that’s changed, too, but I like the ease with which I can manage and maintain and extend my WP blogs. I’m afraid it’s a bit like Adam and Eve in the Garden. Now that I know, I can’t unknow, and life will never be the same again!

  8. Tony K says:

    I hope the WP dev team looks at MT OS and takes some cues on the Admin section and the multiple blog functionality. Very slick. Not enough to make me switch to MT, but welcome additions to WP.

    And I know, WP MU, but too much to deal with for only 10-20 blogs. That MT plugin is nice, just what I would love for WP.

  9. Honsetly, I tried out MoveableType (and TypePad) and to me, those platforms were superior to Word Press. I always knew exactly what was going to come out when I entered something into the software; that’s not always the case with Word Press.

    Cost was the sole reason for choosing Word Press over MT. I’ve grown to learn to work around WP’s quirks, but this move by SA will give me pause to consider a move.

Comments are closed.