WordPress 2.0.6 Beta 1

WordPress 2.0.6 Beta 1 just went out on the WP-Testers list. Feedback should happen on WP-Testers if you’re subscribed, but I’ll monitor this post for feedback as well.

Download it here. This is a beta version, so this is for testers only. Standard disclaimer about installing this on your main blog applies.

I’m particularly interested in feedback from people who had problems with WordPress 2.0.5, specifically related to that Server 500 error that some PHP on FastCGI servers were throwing.

And please, don’t use this as a place to file grievances or feature requests. I want to hear one of the following:

  1. WP 2.0.5 was broken for me, but WP 2.0.6 beta 1 works
  2. WP 2.0.6 beta 1 is broken for me, and here is why: [description of problem]

Your Christmas present to me can be a very bug-free WP 2.0.6 🙂

16 thoughts on “WordPress 2.0.6 Beta 1

  1. Mark, what are the other revisions to 2.0.6?

    I’d be willing to beta test it, but I’d like to know what else it’s incorporating into the update.

  2. Using 2.06 beta – stable all day until I tried to upload a second photo – instead of the usual path and placement info, I received a browser screen showing some sort of Earthlink test (my Internet provider) that failed some sort of test. I freaked, thinking I had been hacked and closed the browser. I quickly changed the permissions on .htaccess file and several others. When I tried to log back in, I received a FORBIDDEN notice “You dont have permission to access/bChome/wp-admin/ on this server.(hosting with ixwebhosting on linux with Apache). If I try to get in with http://www.bicciculture.com, this is what I get:
    Warning: main(./bChome/wp-blog-header.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /hsphere/local/home/jbuckner/bicciculture.com/index.php on line 4

    Warning: main(./bChome/wp-blog-header.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /hsphere/local/home/jbuckner/bicciculture.com/index.php on line 4

    Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required ‘./bChome/wp-blog-header.php’ (include_path=’.:/usr/local/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php/PEAR:/usr/local/share/pear’) in /hsphere/local/home/jbuckner/bicciculture.com/index.php on line 4
    I relaxed ALL permissions to 777 but nothing changes

  3. Pingback: The Code Cave
  4. The article I posted,
    WordPress 2.0.6 Content Summary – Release in days, WordPress 2.1 due Jan 2007, has the links to the official 2.0.6 ticket list, however that doesn’t include all of the changes and additions that were simply checked into the code by the Automattic coders. The article also has a link to a query that shows all of the source code comparisons side by side.

    I don’t think you’ll find a more comprehensive source, but I’ve provided the tools for you to dig into the release in whatever degree of detail you might want.

    Is there anyway, in your mind, in which I can improve the article? I’ll hopefully approval from the tester and hacker lists to make the article at least semi-official.

Comments are closed.