WordPress 2.0.4 Upgrade: changed files ZIP, changes diff, changed files list

WordPress 2.0.4 has been released, incorporating security fixes (one of which I first reported… I may elaborate on that more once people have had a few weeks to get their blogs updated), and 50+ other bug fixes. This is a mandatory upgrade. If you want the full zip with the entire WP install, download it here.

If you are upgrading from WordPress 2.0.3, you obviously don’t need the entire install, you just need the files that have changed. Because my 2.0.2 to 2.0.3 upgrade files were so popular (and thanks to countless words of praise and even a few generous monetary donations), I’m going to provide the same files for the 2.0.3 to 2.0.4 upgrade. If you are upgrading to 2.0.4 from 2.0.2, you have two options:

Changed Files List

Changed Files List (2.0.3 » 2.0.4)
This is a list of all the files that have changed since the last (2.0.3) release. You can also see the changes and their corresponding tickets on Trac.

Changed Files ZIP

Changed Files ZIP (2.0.3 » 2.0.4)
This is what most people will want. This is a zip file that includes only the files that have changed since the last (2.0.3) release. This will save you a lot of FTP upload time.
Note: the /wp-content/ directory isn’t included in this file, to keep you from doing something stupid like replacing instead of merging and destroying your precious themes and plugins. Two of the default plugins have been updated for 2.0.3. If you use either of these plugins, you should download their newest versions: WordPress Database Backup, Akismet. Also, if you are using the Default or Classic theme, note that some of these files have changed, and you will have to manually update those files.

Changes Diff

Changes Diff (2.0.3 » 2.0.4)
This is a diff file (a patch) with all the changes made since the last (2.0.3) release. Make sure you do a trial run by using the patch command’s --dry-run switch, to verify that the patch will apply cleanly. Note: binary images cannot be provided in a diff, so you will have to upload the following (new) files yourself, from either the official zip or my changed files zip above:

  • wp-admin/images/box-bg-left.gif
  • wp-admin/images/box-bg-right.gif
  • wp-admin/images/box-butt-left.gif
  • wp-admin/images/box-butt-right.gif
  • wp-admin/images/box-head-left.gif
  • wp-admin/images/box-head-right.gif

Disclaimer

I prepared these files myself and have tested them. Still, I cannot stress enough the importance of making a full file and database backup before attempting to upgrade WordPress using these or any other files. I cannot be responsible for your carelessness. Make a backup!

35 thoughts on “WordPress 2.0.4 Upgrade: changed files ZIP, changes diff, changed files list

  1. Yay! I loved your last package, but I couldn’t wait this time and upgraded both of my sites via the full package. I’ll definitely pass my friends along to here though. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Yeah, sorry for the delay… I wanted to get this out earlier, but I was moving out of my apartment when 2.0.4 was released so I had no Internet connection and my hands were full of boxes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Pingback: iCamp
  4. VxJasonxV,

    Hm, it’s just that Akismet isn’t actually in the WordPress trunk. SVN diff right from the repository won’t include it. I could do a local diff if you think that’ll be an issue for people.

  5. Being a WordPress total newb, this will be my first upgrade. After deactivating my plugins, do I upload the new changed files or use the dif? If I want to use the dif, is there instructions somewhere how to?
    Thanks!!

  6. Pingback: ddhr.org
  7. ์•ˆ๋…•ํ•˜์„ธ์š”.^^*

    ์•„์ง๋„ ๋‚˜์˜ ํ™ˆํŽ˜์ด์ง€,์นดํŽ˜,๋ธ”๋กœ๊ทธ ํ™๋ณด๋ฅผ ํ•˜๋Š”๋ฐ ๊ณ ๋ฏผ์ด์„ธ์š”?

    ์ง€์‹์ธ ๋“ฑ๋ก๊ธฐ, ์ด๋ฉ”์ผ ์ˆ˜์ง‘๊ธฐ,๊ฒŒ์‹œํŒ ์ถ”์ถœ๊ธฐ,์นดํŽ˜ ๋ฐœ์†ก๊ธฐ,์ชฝ์ง€ ๋“ฑ๋ก๊ธฐ,๋ธ”๋กœ๊ทธ ๋Œ“๊ธ€ ๋“ฑ๋ก๊ธฐ,์ด๋ฉ”์ผ ๋ฐœ์†ก๊ธฐ,์ „ํ™”๋ฒˆํ˜ธ DB ๊ฐœ๋ฐœ ๋ฐ ํŒ๋งค – ํฌ์ŠคํŠธ์›จ์ด

    ์ €ํฌ “ํฌ์ŠคํŠธ์›จ์ด”์—์„œ ๋ฌธ์ œ์„ ํ•ด๊ฒฐํ•˜์„ธ์š”.

    ๊ฐ์ข… ๊ด‘๊ณ  ํ”„๋กœ๊ทธ๋žจ(์ด๋ฉ”์ผ,๋ธ”๋กœ๊ทธ,์นดํŽ˜,๋Œ“๊ธ€ ๋“ฑ๋ก๊ธฐ)์ด ์—ฌ๋Ÿฌ๋ถ„์˜ ๊ด‘๊ณ ์— ํฐ ๋„์›€์ด ๋˜์–ด ๋“œ๋ฆฝ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

    ์ €๋ ดํ•˜๋ฉด์„œ ํ™•์‹คํ•œ ๊ด‘๊ณ ๋กœ ์ €๋น„์šฉ์œผ๋กœ ์ตœ๋Œ€ํ•œ ํšจ๊ณผ์„ ๋ˆ„๋ ค๋ณด์„ธ์š”!!

    ์ง€๊ธˆ ๋‹น์žฅ ์•ผํ›„,๋‹ค์Œ,๊ตฌ๊ธ€ ๊ฒ€์ƒ‰์ฐฝ์— ” ํฌ์ŠคํŠธ์›จ์ด ” ๋ผ๊ณ  ๊ฒ€์ƒ‰ํ•˜์„ธ์š”.

    ํฌ์ŠคํŠธ์›จ์ด ํŠธ์œ„ํ„ฐ ์ฃผ์†Œ: http://twitter.com/postway

Comments are closed.