52 thoughts on “WordPress 2.7: Comment Moderation Keyboard Shortcuts

  1. I love keyboard shortcuts and this is definitely a very welcome addition to WordPress. The keyboard shortcuts would make comment moderation more convenient/faster.

    I have one concern though regarding accidentally deleting valid comments. Shouldn’t there be a safety measure (like the warning message you get when deleting a file in Windows) that would keep a user from accidentally deleting a comment? WordPress doesn’t have a recycle bin where you can recover deleted comments. Once a comment is deleted, its gone forever. I think it would be nice if that can be included.

  2. I am kind of used to keyboard shortcuts for all the applications that I come across on a day to day life.. Now wordpress gets added to that list! Awesome 🙂

  3. Woa, this will be a lot of fun, I knew and experimented this feature since beta, and now on RC1, from now on I’ll be moderating every comment again 😀 It’s just so fun to use this haha

  4. There’s currently no undelete. So maybe you should shift your fingers over to the left so that you’re just over “A” and “S.” Will have a think about how we could support an “Undo” for accidental deletion. I’d like to stay away from “Are you sure?” type stuff, because this is a power user feature and it is meant to be FAST and UNOBTRUSIVE.

  5. @Mark – I understand what you mean. I’m all for keyboard shortcuts and the fast and unobtrusive way. However, there are times when even a power user can accidentally hit delete and lose a comment. You wouldn’t wanna go and ask the person who left the comment to do it all over again, right?

    I haven’t deleted a comment by accident yet, but I don’t wanna wait til it happens. An “Undo” feature would be very nice to have. And since the keyboard shortcuts is coming soon, I would like to be able to use it without having to worry about accidentally losing valid comments.

    I know you guys are doing a heck of a job with this, and we thank you for that. I’m not complaining, I’m just suggesting. 🙂

  6. @Jaypee — Fortunately, there’s a plugin called Comment Recovery. It lets you reinsert deleted comments, as long as you still have the email that you got from WordPress about that comment. Thing is, it won’t work for your own comments (bec. normally blog owners are logged in when they comment on their own blogs, so there’s no emailed notification for that).

  7. Very smooth. Nice sticking with the Google j and k for navigation (I like things to stay consistent).

    For an undo, I like the way it works in gmail. After a deletion, there’s a little notice link at the top of the screen that can be clicked, used with a shortcut, or ignored (the link undoes the last action).

  8. Great job, with the shortcuts and the tutorial here. If this is representative of the rest of wp2.7, it looks like moving from a buick to a corvette, or some such.

  9. Today I was working on my daughters site and accidentally deleted 2 posts. So I’m all for a Trash Can that stores deleted Posts and Comments.

    The Posts still exist in the WordPress iPhone app but I’m afraid of doing anything other than transcribing it.

    When my daughter saw the post on her iPhone she said just copy and paste it to an email, I just laughed and said that highly requested feature doesn’t exist.

  10. I have to say, I could not agree with you in 100%, but that’s just my IMHO, which indeed could be wrong.
    p.s. You have an awesome template . Where did you find it?

  11. Hi to all!
    this is my first Thread, i hope thats okay, i would be say “hello” to this Forum 🙂 I came from Germany and i must lern English for my School Exam. so i will be speak over this Forum to any Members to train my English Online. Thats more Funny that the boring Schooltraining….

    So, thanks in Advance for your Questions and Answers to me to help me train my English….

    Greetings to all,

    Sandra

  12. Hello !

    I’m new on this forum so I introduce me…

    My name is Jason I’m 25 years old, I’m Belgian.

    I like: Tennis and kitesurf…

    Nice to meet you

  13. Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionallyI’m satisfied to search out so many helpful info right here in the put up, we’d like develop extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Comments are closed.