Beta testers needed for Subscribe to Comments

I have a new version of Subscribe to Comments that will be coming out soon. The storage system for the subscriptions is changing (or rather, being consolidated into one method, instead of being spread into two). The good news is that this new version has zero database schema changes from WordPress core. It also adds support for double opt-in subscriptions for compatibility with German law (and possibly others). Before I release this version, I’d like some other people to test it, especially to make sure that the transition of subscription storage method works smoothly.

What I need are two or three people who meet the following criteria:

  1. Current running WordPress 2.7 or 2.7.1
  2. Currently running Subscribe to Comments 2.1.2
  3. Have a large number of comment subscriptions (at least 500)
  4. Are able to make a SQL backup of their comments table prior to testing, and restore it in the event that something goes wrong

If you meet those criteria, send an e-mail to mark.stcbeta@txfx.net and I’ll get you hooked up.

25 thoughts on “Beta testers needed for Subscribe to Comments

  1. I’m using WordPress 2.7.1 with Subscribe to comments 2.12, and i’m been able to make sql backup and restore but i haven’t at least 500 comment subscription 😦

  2. Maybe I can help you Mark, my problem is the cleaning of the fake mails people left on my blog, in high commented posts I get a lot of Bounces everytime someone makes a comment on it.

  3. Do you need 500 subscriptions or subscribers? I have about 330 subscribers, so that should make more than 500 subscriptions since many of them are subscribed to more than one post.

  4. Hey, Mark, I was just thinking the other day about this plugin — mainly that it seems as though the same version has been working awesomely for as long as I’ve been blogging, which is super.

    Also started thinking about an idea that I think is interesting that ties in with WP 2.7’s threaded comments; as I understand it, currently the plugin notifies when there are any new comments whatsoever, right? What if there was an option — if threading is enabled — to subscribe only to top-level comments and to replies to your comments, that way you’re not flooded with notifications if dozens of conversations take off in a post’s comments?

    Not sure how plausible or useful that feature would be in a real life situation, but it does seem to be a natural extension of threaded comments.

    Whatever the case, thanks for an indispensable community-building plugin!

  5. Hemmm saya rasa plukin yg bagus, sebuah ide yang cemerlang, kirimkan ke alamat email saya, saya akan mencobanya

    terima kasih

  6. Do you know when this version will be released?

    I was thinking about using 2.1.2, but this will be out soon, then I guess there’s no point.

    If i use 2.1.2, will I be able to upgrade to this new version?

  7. I don’t qualify as a beta tester, but I am waiting to hear about this version. Will we see it anytime soon. Like Sean I am interested in getting this setup on my site (2.7.x), but I am concerned about impacts of having to upgrade shortly after implementation. Please post a planned release date. Thanks!

  8. Any update on when the new version will be released? I’m thinking about implementing it again, but I’ve had problems with server load with so many emails being sent at once (posts with 700 comments, many of them subscribers causing high CPU/Memory usage for exim sending so many emails at once).

  9. On the whole, the commercial real estate market is no where near the bottom. There are definitely some pockets where signs suggest the market is picking up but on the whole, the market is down and will continue to plummet as balloon payments begin to come due

Comments are closed.